Slovenia is a central European country, surrounded by Austria, Croatia, Hungary and Italy. Its 20.256 km2 places it among the small countries of the world.

A good half of the country is overgrown with forests, which places it along with Finland and Sweden at the top of all European countries. Its geographical position between the Alps, Pannonian lowlands, Dinarsko mountains and Mediterranean creates a countryside with a hundred and one faces and gives the opportunity for adventure in the mountains, lowlands and seaside all at the same time in a matter of hours.

Historically, the current territory of Slovenia was part of many different state formations, including Illyrian and Celtic tribe formations, the Roman Empire, first Slovenian state of Carantania, followed by the Holy Roman Empire along with the long rule of major central European royal house, the House of Habsburg. In 1918, the Slovenes exercised self-determination by co-founding the State of Slovenes, Croats, and Serbs, later Kingdom of Serbes, Croats and Slovenes and finaly Kingdom of Yugoslavia under the rule of Serbian king Aleksander Karađorđević. During World War Two, Slovenia was occupied and annexed by Germany, Italy and Hungary. After World War II, Slovenia became a republic of the renewed Yugoslavia, which dis-tanced itself from the rule of Moscow.

In 1991, Slovenia declared independence and full sovereignty. Today, Slovenia is a member of the European Union, the Eurozone, the Schengen area, NATO and OECD.